Institute of Technical Thermodynamics

From elementary reactions to technical combustion systems

Combustion represents, like almost no other technology, the benefits and at the same time the risks that humanity has created by building a highly technological world.

Whilst combustion has become a cornerstone of our civilisation through its manifold practical applications in traffic, transport and energy supply, its side-effects such as damage to the biosphere by air pollutants are clearly noticeable today. Is it possible to utilise combustion without its negative effects, and how can this be realised on a large scale? Whereas humanity’s relationship with combustion for a million years has consisted solely in its utility, over the past century its systematic research has become an added decisive aspect. This is the field of activity of the Institute of Technical Thermodynamics.

 

 

Physical-chemical foundations

Combustion is a chemical reaction that typically involves significant heat release, in which the fuel and the oxidant are converted to the reaction products. A prominent example of such a reaction is the oxidation of methane (CH4):

CH4 + 2 O2     → CO2 + 2 H2O .

In this reaction, chemical energy is converted into thermal energy, such that the waste gas (with the same total energy) exhibits a much higher temperature than the initial substances. The resulting high temperature difference relative to the environment can be utilised for technically important processes.

This highly simplified description of combustion, already highlights several essential aspects: it requires a fuel (in this case CH4), i.e. a substance that stores a great deal of energy in its molecules. As fuel prices show only too clearly, such substances are not available in infinite amounts. Oxygen is consumed also, which although available in the air ‘for free’ is still limited in principle, and as a foundation for life is extremely precious. In addition to the desired heat, the process also generates ‘waste products’ (reactants, waste gas) which mostly are of no use and occasionally harmful, as here the greenhouse gas CO2.

Interestingly, there is a process in nature that in a sense is the opposite of the combustion reaction, namely photosynthesis in plants: by utilising sunlight, CO2 and H2O are used to build very energy-rich substances that can be used as fuels. In principle, then, these two processes of ‘combustion“ and ‘photosynthesis“ can form a closed loop, on the basis of which a permanent, ecologically sustainable and economically sensible utilisation of combustion is conceivable.

Unfortunately, however, this simple model is far too imprecise. One of the greatest problems with combustion, namely the formation of pollutants such as carbon monoxide (CO) and the nitrogen oxides generated during combustion with air such as NO and NO2, does not even form part of this description. The same is true for the formation of soot, and for the well-known problem of incomplete combustion leading to the emission of unburned hydrocarbons. One key to an understanding of these problems lies in the detailed treatment of the chemical reactions that occur during a combustion process.

 

 

Elementary chemical kinetics – a crucial detail

In reality, the methane combustion shown above does not take place in a single step, but as a sequence of many hundreds of elementary reactions in which a large number (typically several hundreds or thousands) of chemical species take part. A small section of the reaction flowchart for methane/air is shown in Fig. 1 on the left: Starting with methane, many elementary reactions produce numerous chemical species which in turn can react with each other. The main combustion products, CO2 and H2O (the latter is not shown in the diagram), are at the bottom of this chain.

Fig. 1 illustrates the crucial detail, that it is mainly chemical species such as OH, H and O that occur very often in the reaction chain, therefore playing an important role in it. These substances are radicals, that is to say, molecules with unpaired electrons, which as a result are very reactive. It is just these substances, eminently important for the reaction, that in general are present during combustion only in vanishingly small concentrations. Analyses of the reaction flowchart show that it is mainly steps such as

H + O2  → OH + O 

where two radicals are formed from one radical and one ‘stable’ molecule, that are very important for the further progress of the combustion reactions.

One approach for describing combustion is to regard it as a sequence of chemical reactions in a spatially homogeneous system. Mathematically, this model of the homogeneous chemical reactor is described by a system of ordinary differential equations, which describes the temporal rate of the formation or consumption of each individual chemical species. Since the numerous chemical species react with each other in manifold ways (Fig. 1, left), the formation or consumption velocity of a species depends in a very complication fashion on the concentrations of all the species. Therefore, usually the equations need to be solved by numerical methods running on computers.

Fig. 1 (right) shows as an example the computed temporal course of the temperature and the concentrations of a few chemical species during the ignition of a methane/air mixture. The presence of two prominent pollutants, CO and NO, is predicted correctly by the simulation. It also shows correctly that the oxygen is not used up completely during the reaction. Finally, the conversion of the reactants into products does not take place instantaneously, but needs a certain length of time that is, in fact, observed in reality as a so-called ignition delay. At the end, the gas mixture is in a state of chemical equilibrium (waste gas) that exhibits not only CO2 and H2O as end-products but also substances such as CO and NO. Note also that OH occurs only at very low concentrations, but nevertheless is a key-species for the reaction’s progress. Also notable is the fact that the temporal course of the profiles is mostly quite even, with the exception of the time around approx. 0.3773 s where all the quantities change almost abruptly. This behaviour too, is an important feature of many ignition and combustion processes.

 

 

   
A small section of the reaction flowchart for the combustion of methane. The thickness of the arrows denotes the share of each reaction step in the total consumption or formation of a substance. Numerically computed, spatially homogeneous methane-air mixture at a pressure of 7 bar and an initial temperature of 900 K, shown as a function of time for the concentrations of various species and for the temperature. Note the logarithmic scale on the ordinates.

 

 

 

The modelling of combustion as a homogeneous reaction system whose behaviour is determined solely by chemical reactions, therefore, already yields important data. A more detailed analysis, however, shows that considering the chemical kinetics alone fails to provide a complete picture of combustion. This is due to the spatial non-homogeneity of most of the combustion processes that occur in nature and in technical applications, which results in strongly dissipative processes (heat conduction, diffusion). A complete description, therefore, needs to include the interaction between chemical reactions and physical processes (transport phenomena).

 

 

 

 

Start | Previous | Page: 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 | Next | End

english | Home | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Von Elementarreaktionen zum technischen Verbrennungssystem

Die Verbrennung repräsentiert wie kaum eine andere Technologie den Nutzen und zugleich die Gefahren, die sich der Mensch mit einer hoch technologisierten Welt geschaffen hat.

Während sie durch ihre mannigfachen Nutzanwendungen in Verkehr, Transport und Energieversorgung zu einer Grundlage unserer Kultur geworden ist, sind ihre Nebeneffekte wie die Schädigung der Biosphäre durch Luftschadstoffe heute deutlich spürbar. Ist eine Nutzung der Verbrennung ohne ihre negativen Auswirkungen möglich, und wie lässt sie sich in großem Maßstab realisieren? Während die Beziehung des Menschen zur Verbrennung über eine Million Jahre lang ausschließlich in ihrer Nutzung bestand, ist im letzten Jahrhundert ihre systematische Erforschung als entscheidender Aspekt hinzugekommen. Diese ist das Arbeitsgebiet des Instituts für Technische Thermodynamik.

 

Physikalisch-chemische Grundlagen

Verbrennung ist eine typischerweise unter starker Wärmeentwicklung ablaufende chemische Reaktion, bei der Kraftstoff und Oxidator in Produkte umgewandelt werden. Ein „prominentes“ Beispiel für eine solche Reaktion stellt die Oxidation von Methan (CH4) dar:

 

CH4 + 2 O2     → CO2 + 2 H2O  .

Bei der Reaktion wird chemische Energie in thermische Energie umgewandelt, so dass das Abgas (bei gleicher Gesamtenergie) eine viel höhere Temperatur aufweist als die Ausgangsstoffe. Die resultierende hohe Temperaturdifferenz zur Umgebung kann genutzt werden, um technisch wichtige Prozesse ablaufen zu lassen.

Diese stark vereinfachte Darstellung der Verbrennung zeigt schon einige sehr wesentliche Aspekte auf: Es wird ein Brennstoff benötigt (hier repräsentiert durch CH4), also eine Substanz, die viel Energie in ihren Molekülen speichert. Solche Stoffe sind, wie an den Kraftstoffpreisen deutlich spürbar wird, nicht in beliebiger Menge verfügbar. Ebenso wird Sauerstoff verbraucht, der zwar in der Luft „umsonst“ verfügbar, aber prinzipiell ebenso begrenzt und als Lebensgrundlage enorm kostbar ist. Neben der erwünschten Wärme entstehen auch „Abfallprodukte“ (Edukte, Abgas) die meist nutzlos und bisweilen schädlich sind, wie hier das Treibhausgas CO2.

Interessanterweise läuft in der Natur ein Prozess ab, der in gewisser Weise die Umkehrung der obigen Verbrennungsreaktion darstellt, nämlich die Photosynthese der Pflanzen: Aus CO2 und H2O werden unter Nutzung von Sonnenlicht wieder sehr energiehaltige Stoffe, die als Brennstoffe genutzt werden können, aufgebaut. Im Prinzip können die beiden Prozesse „Verbrennung“ und „Photosynthese“ also einen geschlossenen Kreislauf bilden, auf dessen Grundlage eine dauerhafte, ökologisch verträgliche und ökonomisch sinnvolle Nutzung der Verbrennung denkbar ist.

Leider ist dieses einfache Modell aber bei weitem zu ungenau. Eines der größten Probleme der Verbrennung etwa, nämlich die Bildung von Schadstoffen wie Kohlenmonoxid (CO) und den bei Verbrennung mit Luft anfallenden Stickoxiden wie NO und NO2 tritt in dieser Beschreibung überhaupt nicht auf, ebenso wenig wie die Bildung von Ruß und die bekannten Probleme der unvollständigen Verbrennung mit ihrer Emission unverbrannter Kohlenwasserstoffe. Ein Schlüssel zum Verständnis dieser Probleme liegt in der detaillierten Behandlung der chemischen Reaktionen bei einem Verbrennungsprozess.

 

Chemische Elementarkinetik – ein entscheidendes Detail

Die oben angeführte Methan-Verbrennung läuft in Wirklichkeit nicht in einem Schritt ab, sondern als Abfolge vieler hundert Elementarreaktionen, an denen eine Vielzahl (typischerweise einige hundert oder tausend) chemischer Spezies beteiligt ist. Ein kleiner Ausschnitt aus dem Reaktionsschema für Methan/Luft ist in Abbildung 1 links gezeigt: Ausgehend vom Kraftstoff Methan entstehen in vielen Elementarreaktionen zahlreiche chemische Spezies, die wiederum miteinander reagieren können. Die Hauptprodukte der Verbrennung, CO2 und H2O (letzteres ist im Schema nicht gezeigt), stehen unten in dieser Kette.

Als entscheidendes Detail ist aus Abbildung 1 ersichtlich, dass vor allem chemische Spezies wie OH, H und O sehr oft in der Reaktionskette auftreten und daher eine wichtige Rolle spielen. Diese Stoffe sind Radikale, also Moleküle mit ungepaarten Elektronen, die deshalb sehr reaktiv sind. Gerade diese für den Reaktionsablauf eminent wichtigen Stoffe sind bei der Verbrennung meist nur in verschwindend geringen Konzentrationen vorhanden. Analysen des Reaktionsschemas zeigen, dass vor allem Schritte wie

 

H + O2  → OH + O   ,

 

bei denen aus einem Radikal und einem „stabilen“ Molekül zwei Radikale gebildet werden, für den weiteren Fortschritt der Verbrennungsreaktionen sehr wichtig sind.

Ein Ansatz zur Beschreibung der Verbrennung ist, sie als Abfolge chemischer Reaktionen in einem räumlich homogenen System zu betrachten. Mathematisch wird dieses Modell des homogenen chemischen Reaktors durch ein System von gewöhnlichen Differentialgleichungen beschrieben, das die zeitliche Rate der Bildung oder des Verbrauchs jeder einzelnen chemischen Spezies beschreibt. Da die zahlreichen chemischen Spezies in vielfacher Weise miteinander reagieren (Abbildung 1, links), hängt die Bildungs- oder Verbrauchsgeschwindigkeit einer Spezies in sehr komplizierter Weise von den Konzentrationen aller Spezies ab. Daher müssen die Gleichungen gewöhnlich durch numerische Verfahren auf Computern gelöst werden.

In Abbildung 1 rechts ist beispielhaft die berechnete zeitliche Entwicklung der Temperatur und der Konzentrationen einiger chemischer Spezies bei der Zündung einer Methan/Luft-Mischung gezeigt. Das Auftreten zweier „prominenter“ Schadstoffe, CO und NO  wird in der Simulation richtig vorhergesagt. Ebenso wird richtig wiedergegeben, dass bei der Reaktion der Sauerstoff nicht vollständig verbraucht wird. Schließlich findet die Umwandlung von Edukten zu Produkten nicht instantan statt, sondern benötigt eine gewisse Zeit, die in der Realität als sogenannte Zündverzugszeit tatsächlich beobachtet wird. Am Ende befindet sich das Gasgemisch im chemischen Gleichgewicht (Abgas), das keineswegs nur CO2 und H2O als Produkte aufweist, sondern eben auch Stoffe wie CO und NO. Man beachte auch, dass OH nur in sehr geringen Konzentrationen auftritt, aber dennoch eine Schlüsselspezies für den Reaktionsablauf ist. Man bemerkt auch, dass die zeitliche Änderung der Profile meist recht gering ist, mit Ausnahme des Zeitpunkts um etwa 0.3773 s, wo sich alle Größen fast sprungartig ändern. Dieses Verhalten ist ebenfalls ein wichtiges Charakteristikum vieler Zünd- und Verbrennungsprozesse.

   
Kleiner Ausschnitt aus dem Reaktionsfluss-Schema bei der Verbrennung von Methan. Die Dicke der Pfeile repräsentiert den Anteil eines Reaktionsschritts am gesamten Verbrauch bzw. Bildung eines Stoffes. Numerisch berechnetes räumlich homogenes Methan-Luft-Gemisch bei einem Druck von 7 bar und einer Anfangstemperatur von 900 K, dargestellt als zeitliche Entwicklung der Konzentrationen verschiedener Spezies und der Temperatur. Man beachte die logarithmische Skala auf den Ordinaten.

 

Die Modellierung der Verbrennung als homogenes Reaktionssystem, dessen Verhalten ausschließlich von chemischen Reaktionen bestimmt wird, liefert also bereits wichtige Informationen. Eine genauere Analyse zeigt jedoch, dass die Berücksichtigung der chemischen Kinetik alleine noch nicht für ein vollständiges Bild der Verbrennung ausreicht. Dies liegt an der örtlichen Inhomogenität der meisten in der Natur und Technik auftretenden Verbrennungsprozesse, die stark dissipative Prozesse (Wärmeleitung, Diffusion) bewirkt. Für eine vollständige Beschreibung fehlt daher noch die Wechselwirkung zwischen chemischen Reaktionen und physikalischen Prozessen (Transportphänomene).

 

 

Start | Zurück | Seite: 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 | Vorwärts | Ende